The Hugo Boss Prize honors outstanding achievement in contemporary art, celebrating the work of remarkable artists whose practices are among the most innovative and influential of our time. The biennial prize, established in 1996, sets no restrictions on age, gender, nationality, or medium. Juried by an international panel of distinguished museum directors, curators, and critics, it is administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and carries an award of $100,000. Since its inception in 1996, the Hugo Boss Prize has been awarded to Matthew Barney (1996), Douglas Gordon (1998), Marjetica Potrč (2000), Pierre Huyghe (2002), Rirkrit Tiravanija (2004), Tacita Dean (2006), Emily Jacir (2008), Hans-Peter Feldmann (2010), Danh Vo (2012), Paul Chan (2014), Anicka Yi (2016), and Simone Leigh (2018). Work by each artist who receives the award is presented in a solo exhibition at the Guggenheim Museum in New York.

Finalists for the Hugo Boss Prize 2020 are Nairy Baghramian (b. 1971, Isfahan, Iran), Kevin Beasley (b. 1985, Lynchburg, VA), Deana Lawson (b. 1979, Rochester, NY), Elias Sime (b. 1968, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia), Cecilia Vicuña (b. 1948, Santiago, Chile), and Adrián Villar Rojas (b. 1980, Rosario, Argentina). The winner will be announced in the fall of 2020, and will present a solo exhibition at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in spring 2021.